The Incredible Benefit of Healthy Employees

Creating a Healthy Workplace

Part one of this three-part blog series will explore the incredible benefits that a company can realize when implementing a wellness program at work. Aside from the obvious benefit of having happy, healthy employees; companies can save millions of dollars each year in healthcare costs and improve the productivity of their workforce by implementing such a program.

Improve Productivity

Let’s think about this for a second… Wouldn’t you feel better about your job if your employer expressed a vested interest in your well-being? According to Partnerships for a Healthy Workforce (PHW), employees are “more likely to be attracted to, remain with, and value a company that obviously values them.” A recent Smart Business article states that, “Organizations that value and promote a healthy lifestyle may have an edge when it comes to attracting and retaining key people. In addition, their employees may be more alert and more productive.”

Productivity also relates to an employees ability to work for longer periods of time and effectively concentrate on their work. PHW reports that a healthy workforce will lead to reduced absenteeism and lost time, and can also positively effect employee turnover.

Lower Healthcare Costs

This is an obvious benefit of having healthy employees, but sometimes can be a hard argument to make because of the potential for a large investment in your employees. Time and time again, studies have proven that having healthy employees can dramatically decrease healthcare costs – some examples from PHW:

  • “Smokers generated 31% higher claim costs than non-smokers”
  • “Workers with unhealthy weights had 143% higher hospital inpatient utilization than those with healthy weights”
  • Employees with just a few risk factors cost much less than employees with numerous risk factors

According to the Wall Street Journal Health Blog, “Some companies are giving additional incentives to workers who follow through and actually try to lower their risk factors.” What employee wouldn’t benefit from saving some money and improving their health?

Savings can be realized through any scale of program – from comprehensive company-wide wellness programs to single activities to promote healthy lifestyles. And the savings are real: a Dallas-based company of 6,500 employees instituted a wellness program, and in just one year with half of its employees participating, they saved $500,000 in health care costs, according to the News Press.

Enhance your Company Image

It’s also important to consider the effect of healthy employees on your company’s image and influence in the community. By supporting the wellness of your employees, your organization is demonstrating a certain degree of social responsibility. They’re building their reputation as an organization that supports their workforce, and therefore will likely be seen as a welcome “neighbor” in the community.

 

Check back in to the Where Great Workplaces Start blog next week for Part 2 in this 3-Part series on Creating a Healthy Workplace. Next week we’ll blog about Planning a Wellness Program.

For more information on improving the health and wellness of your employees, check out www.ERCHealth.com for some innovative ideas on workplace health and wellness.

This entry was posted in Health & Safety, Social Responsibility and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Incredible Benefit of Healthy Employees

  1. We are in 100% support of focusing on healthy workplaces. However, health is more than physical health. I have found the company culture can create an unhealthy atmosphere if workplace bullies and jerks are not properly dealt with in a timely fashion. Prolonged exposure to health-harming psychological mistreatment leads to serious health consequences, including anxiety, depression, post traumatic stress disorder, gastrointestinal disorders, emotional eating, isolation, and the list goes on and it can become quite severe, not to mention the serious impact on productivity.

    On a less serious note, we have released a comedic video series to highlight the ridiculous nature of office bullies, jerks and a**holes who terrorize the office. Talk about unhealthy.

    Go to http://www.youtube.com/sidcitrus

  2. Pingback: Standing at Work | Mark's Daily Apple

  3. Pingback: Business Travel and Corporate Responsibility | BradFarris.com

  4. Pingback: Unexplained Pain & Stress – Try Standing At Work! — The Hatched Egg

  5. anxiety and depressionanxiety causes says:

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated.
    Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the simplest thing to be aware of.
    I say to you, I definitely get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side-effects , people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thanks

  6. Hmm it looks like your website ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for newbie blog writers? I’d genuinely appreciate it.

  7. Isabella says:

    I like what you guys are up also. Such intelligent work and reporting!

    Carry on the superb works guys I’ve incorporated you guys
    to my blogroll. I think it will improve the value of my
    site 🙂

  8. You know the majority of people don’t genuinely understand the benefits of running a blog. Or even the amount of hard work that goes into building a website. Truthfully operating a blog can be alot of fun as well as a good way to progress a brand or home business.

  9. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through many of the posts I realized it’s
    new to me. Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be book-marking it and checking back
    frequently!

  10. Excellent blog! Do you have any helpful hints for aspiring writers?
    I’m planning to start my own website soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option?
    There are so many options out there that I’m completely overwhelmed .. Any ideas? Kudos!

  11. Pingback: The Greatest Food Experience You’ve Never Had | BrazenWorks

  12. You really make it seem so easy with your presentation however I find this matter to be
    actually something which I think I would never understand.
    It sort of feels too complicated and very huge for me.

    I’m having a look forward for your subsequent post, I will attempt to get the grasp of it!

  13. Does your site have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an email.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it improve over time.

  14. Pingback: 5 Good Reasons for Group Health Insurance, Maryland! | Bellwether Insurance

  15. Greetings! I’ve been reading your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Tx!
    Just wanted to mention keep up the good job!

  16. I was suggested this blog through my cousin. I’m now not
    certain whether or not this put up is written via him as no one else recognize such
    particular approximately my difficulty. You’re incredible!

    Thank you!

  17. Nutrition wellness is very important

  18. This information has duly been noted by insurance companies, as UK van insurance
    has come down in recent times. Once you are finished with the lease, you can either renew it,
    or avail of the second advantage of car leasing: getting a new car again. This week, the former
    “Real Housewives of New York City” star and her husband,
    Simon van Kempen, relocated to Australia.

  19. Pingback: Why Every Business Owner should Worry about Health of Employees | Small Biz Viewpoints

  20. Ethan Hunt says:

    Great post thanks!

  21. Pingback: 7 Advantages to using a standing up desk when working as a developer – element121.com

Leave a comment